The Nobel Peace Prize awarded to the UN World Food Program

The United Nations once again honored by the Nobel Prize. The Nobel Peace Prize awarded the United Nations World Food Program (WFP) on Friday, the Norwegian Nobel Committee announced, arguing that the need for multilateral solutions was “more visible than ever”. WFP is recognized for “its efforts to fight hunger, for its contribution to improving the conditions of peace in conflict-affected areas and for having played a leading role in efforts to prevent the use of hunger as a weapon of war, ”said Nobel Committee chairperson Berit Reiss-Andersen.

The World Food Program (WFP) is “very honored” to have received the Nobel Peace Prize, said its executive director, the American David Beasley, who said he was “speechless” for the first time in his life. life. “We are very honored to receive the Nobel Peace Prize. This is a tremendous recognition of the commitment of the WFP family who work every day to end hunger in more than 80 countries, ”David Beasley said on his Twitter account.

“They are on the ground, in the most difficult, the most complex areas of the planet, whether it is because of war, conflict, extreme weather conditions, whatever, they are on the ground and they deserve this reward, ”said David Beasley. In a separate statement, he insisted on the inseparable link between “food security, peace and stability”. “Without peace, we cannot achieve our global goal of eradicating hunger; and as long as hunger persists, we will never have a peaceful world, ”he warned.

318 applications

It is the twelfth Nobel Peace Prize awarded to a UN organization or personality or linked to the United Nations. Founded in 1961 with its headquarters in Rome and funded entirely by voluntary contributions, the UN body says it distributed 15 billion rations and assisted 97 million people in 88 countries last year. A dizzying figure, but which represents only a fraction of the total need. Operating as well by helicopter as on the back of an elephant or camel, the WFP presents itself as “the largest humanitarian organization”, a necessity since, according to its estimates, 690 million people, one in eleven, suffer from undernourishment. chronic in 2019. And probably more this year because of the pandemic.

Read also Covid-19: and during that time, in Africa …

This year, 318 candidates were in contention, including 211 individuals and 107 organizations. A plethora of list, but whose composition still remains secret. The prize – a gold medal, a diploma and a sum of 10 million Swedish kronor (nearly 950,000 euros) – must be physically presented on December 10 in Oslo if sanitary conditions permit or, if not, remotely via digital means. Last year, the Nobel went to Ethiopian Prime Minister Abiy Ahmed, crowned for the rapprochement he launched with the former enemy brother, Eritrea, but now facing inter-ethnic violence and anti-government protests , severely repressed.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *