Formula 1 calendar 2020: the overview –

( – The provisional Formula 1 calendar for the 2020 season has been available since the end of August. 22 races will be held for the first time in the history of the premier class next year – but none of them in Germany. While the races in Vietnam and the Netherlands are new, Hockenheim is out.

Sebastian Vettel

2020 will not be driven in Germany, Hockenheim will fly out



The season begins on March 15 in Melbourne and ends on November 29 in Abu Dhabi. The new Grand Prix in Hanoi is the third race of the season between Bahrain and China, Zandvoort follows China and thus marks the new start to Europe. For this, Baku migrates from April to June.

In this overview we provide an overview of all host cities in 2020 and at the same time look at how long the corresponding route will still be on the calendar. Because while some contracts expire in 2020, other racetracks are still tied to Formula 1 in the long term.

The provisional Formula 1 calendar 2020:
March 15: Australian Grand Prix (Melbourne)
March 22: Bahrain Grand Prix (Sachir)
April 5: Vietnam Grand Prix (Hanoi)
April 19: Chinese Grand Prix (Shanghai)
May 3: Grand Prix of the Netherlands (Zandvoort)
May 10: Spanish Grand Prix (Barcelona)
May 24: Monaco Grand Prix (Monaco)
June 7: Azerbaijan Grand Prix (Baku)
June 14: Canadian Grand Prix (Montreal)
June 28: French Grand Prix (Le Castellet)
July 5: Austrian Grand Prix (Spielberg)
July 19: Great Britain Grand Prix (Silverstone)
August 2: Hungarian Grand Prix (Budapest)
August 30: Belgian Grand Prix (Spa)
September 6: Italian Grand Prix (Monza)
September 20: Grand Prix of Singapore (Singapore)
September 27: Russian Grand Prix (Sochi)
October 11: Japanese Grand Prix (Suzuka)
October 25: United States Grand Prix (Austin)
November 1: Grand Prix of Mexico (Mexico City)
November 15: Brazilian Grand Prix (Sao Paulo)
November 29: Abu Dhabi Grand Prix (Abu Dhabi)

This is how the Formula 1 calendar is adopted:
The race dates for the Formula 1 season next year are initially negotiated with the race tracks by the rights holder Liberty Media. As a rule, the teams are involved in these negotiations and continuously informed about progress. The teams have no decision-making powers.

As soon as a first draft is ready, it is usually published by the rights holder. In 2019, for example, this happened on August 29 for the 2020 season. This draft often contains one or the other “asterisk” – for example, if a contract with a race track has not yet been signed but an agreement is foreseeable.

As soon as all contracts have been finalized and the last “asterisk” has been eliminated, the rights holder will hand over the draft calendar to the FIA ​​Motorsport World Council. Only when its 26 members have approved (this is usually a mere formal act) will the Formula 1 calendar for the next season be officially published by the FIA.

The World Council usually meets four times a year, including in October and December. Ratification is already possible in October. In practice, the Formula 1 calendar was most recently only officially announced and confirmed after the December meeting (shortly before the FIA ​​annual closing gala with the Formula 1 World Championship award ceremony).

Only then will all Grand Prix dates be 100 percent binding.

Overview: The 2020 Formula 1 calendar

In 2020 the longest Formula 1 season of all time awaits us with 22 races – but without a Grand Prix in Germany. We provide an overview

More Formula 1 videos

Formula 1 venues 2020:
– Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi: Yas Marina Circuit (contract until 2021)
– Azerbaijan, Baku: Baku City Circuit (until 2023)
– Australia, Melbourne: Albert Park Circuit (until 2025)
– Bahrain, Sachir: Bahrain International Circuit (until 2021)
– Belgium, Spa-Francorchamps: Circuit de Spa-Francorchamps (until 2021)
– Brazil, Sao Paulo: Autodromo Jose Carlos Pace (until 2020)
– China, Shanghai: Shanghai International Circuit (until 2020)
– France, Le Castellet: Circuit Paul Ricard (until 2022)
– Great Britain, Silverstone: Silverstone Circuit (until 2024)
– Italy, Monza: Autodromo Nazionale Monza (until 2024)
– Japan, Suzuka: Suzuka International Racing Course (until 2021)
– Canada, Montreal: Circuit Gilles Villeneuve (until 2029)
– Mexico, Mexico City: Autodromo Hermanos Rodriguez (until 2022)
– Monaco, Monte Carlo: Circuit de Monaco (until 2020)
– Austria, Spielberg: Red Bull Ring (until 2020)
– Russia, Sochi: Sochi Autodrom (until 2025)
– Singapore, Singapore: Marina Bay Street Circuit (until 2021)
– Spain, Barcelona: Circuit Barcelona-Catalunya (until 2020)
– Hungary, Budapest: Hungaroring (until 2027)
– USA, Austin: Circuit of the Americas (until 2021)
– Vietnam, Hanoi: Hanoi Street Circuit (duration unknown)
– Netherlands, Zandvoort: Circuit Park Zandvoort (until 2022)

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *